Co warto zobaczyć w Kingston upon Hull
Odkryj 12 zabytków, pomników i atrakcji w Kingston upon Hull, United Kingdom. Od ikonicznych miejsc po ukryte perełki — zebrane z prawdziwych doświadczeń podróżników.
Przeglądaj atrakcje-
The Avenues
Oficjalna stronaIs a conservation area whose varied house architecture and street plan will be of interest to both the casual visitor and those interested in Victorian, Edwardian and post World War I middle class residential housing.…
Czytaj więcej
Starting from 1875, when Prince’s Avenue was opened and soon after the inception of Pearson Park, four parallel avenues, Marlborough, Westbourne, Park and Victoria and two cross streets, Richmond and Salisbury, were laid out between Chanterlands Avenue to the west and Prince’s Avenue to the east. The original farm land was subdivided for building purposes in such a way that it produced runs of properties of differing styles though generally towards the west houses are of a later date than those at the east. Circles with fountains were a feature and over the last few decades these have been restored –though not as full fountains. Originally houses had cast iron railings but these were removed for the ‘war effort’ but were never used, the metal being of the wrong kind! Their insertion holes can still be seen in places as can the odd piece of original railing though these are not along the frontage but between houses. By 1910 The Avenues was essentially in its current form. There are many interesting houses in the area but among the largest are those designed by George Gilbert Scott junior built between 1877 and 1879. These can be found along the west side of Salisbury Street between Westbourne and Park Avenue. One or two newer houses might be seen which have either been built on WWII bomb damage, old market gardens, playing fields or in one case a bakery. From its inception the fortunes of The Avenues has varied though over the recent decades the activity of the Avenues and Pearson Park Residents Association (APPR) has led, if not to reinstatement, to much preservation. On the first two Sundays in July many gardens are open to visitors and at Christmas many windows are lit as ‘Advent Calendars’. The Avenues is mentioned in Pevsner and Neave’s 1995 book but various booklets have also been published about the area. The most recent, ‘The Avenues Conservation Area –Practical guidance for residents on renovation, planning and design’ 2007 ISBN No 0-9541031-3-0, will be of interest to those with a curiosity for domestic architecture. By foot The Avenues can be accessed by those buses which pass along Prince’s and Chanterlands Avenues. These are available from the Hull Paragon Interchange. No buses pass through the area. During the day on road parking may be available but at night spaces are usually scarce. Avenues SatNav code HU5 3.
-
Hull Fair
Oficjalna stronaIs a huge travelling fair, and one of the city's greatest regular occasions, if not its greatest. It is the biggest European fair, and at over 700 years old, also one of the oldest. Visiting the fair is a must, though for evening visitors from a long way out of town, overnight accommodation may be necessary.…
Czytaj więcej
The first charter for a ‘fair’ was granted in 1278 though in 1293 Edward I proscribed the original length of it. The 18th and 19th centuries saw it develop more into a fair, and less of a festive market, and later mechanisation allowed more varied and bigger ‘rides’ to be developed. In 1888, the fair moved to its current site in Walton Street where it presently occupies an area of 16 acres. Attractions vary: simple stalls where you can win prizes; large complex rides many of which may challenge one if not all your senses; children’s rides; stalls selling all manner of food (candy floss, hot- dogs, chips, brandy snap, toffee apples, coconuts etc) and goods (balloons, masks, toys, fancy hats, cheap jewellery, etc). It is not easy to cover the whole fair in one visit and local people may go several times. Prices are less on the first afternoon the fair opens but daylight takes something away from the experience. At night the fair is brightly lit and its glow can be seen from miles away. At night it is crowded though generally safe but the hand of young children should be held as, in any crowded space, they can soon get lost from view in the mass of people. The weather can be cold so warm clothing is advisable. Police and medical services patrol the fair. Parking near the fair is difficult so a walk is usually required. Three main entrances are available; Spring Bank West and Walton Street, Anlaby Road and Walton Street and the metal bridge at the junction of Argyle Street and Londesborough Street. Hull Fair is held during the second week of October. The exact dates are available on the Hull City Council web site.
-
The Garden Village
Oficjalna stronaDuring the late 1800s and early 1900s a number of industrial philanthropists around the country became aware of the very poor housing occupied by many of their workers and decided to build houses of a higher standard for them. One such philanthropist was Sir James Reckitt, a Quaker, who developed the Hull based company Reckitt and Sons which was started by his father Isaac.…
Czytaj więcej
The company later became Reckitt and Colman and more recently Reckitt Benckiser. In 1907 Sir James formed a company, The Garden Village (Hull) Ltd., with his own money and initiated the building of The Garden Village which he opened on July 1st 1908. Originally the houses were rented, the amount depending on their size, but some 50 years ago tenants were allowed to buy them. Garden Village has a mix of house size and architectural styles (but all have gardens), there is a large grassy area, The Oval, where the houses were individually designed, a Club House supporting various activities, a colonnaded shopping centre restored as flats and three alms houses, now homes for the elderly, referred to as Havens. All the roads are tree lined and named after trees e.g. Chestnut Avenue, Lilac Avenue. The area, which lies some 2 miles NE of the city centre (near East Park), can be approached from Holderness Road via Village Road or Laburnum Avenue or from James Reckitt Avenue via Laburnum or Chestnut Avenues.
-
The Guildhall
Runs adjacent to and on the south side of Queen's Gardens and with Alfred Gelder Street on its south side. Built between 1903-1916, to a design chosen by competition, it is the home of the City Council, it also houses the city's silver and the Hull Tapestry, as well as the old magistrate's court and below this the cell…
Czytaj więcej
s! The Guildhall is a great slab of early 20th century civic pride, prosperity and confidence. At the west end sits a sculpture symbolising 'Maritime Prowess' atop its ornate Neo-Classical design and at the east end a clock tower. Starting in 1991 The Hull Tapestry took 15 years to complete and in 19 panels depicts important aspects of the city's history and development. The tapestry can be viewed (free of charge) Monday-Thursday 08:30-16:30, and Friday 08:30-15.30. To view it ask at the reception desk of the Guildhall. Guildhall tours are also available free of charge but these must be booked in advance. For these contact the Guildhall Curator Tel +44 1482 613902.
-
Ferens Art Gallery
Free entry. Permanent collection of Sculpture and Paintings from medieval to present day, as well as a regular programme of temporary exhibitions from around the world. Strong on old European Masters, particularly Dutch and Flemish, the Ferens also houses some of the best contemporary art in the country.…
Czytaj więcej
Includes masterpieces by Frans Hals, Antonio Canaletto, Stanley Spencer, David Hockney, Helen Chadwick and Gillian Wearing. There is a pleasant cafe on the ground floor of the gallery with an outside section overlooking part of Prince's dock. In February to April each year it hosts the 'Open Exhibition' to which, for a modest fee, amateurs as well as professional artists can submit their own work for sale or just display.
-
Trinity House
Oficjalna stronaA large cream building - occupies the area on the corner of Trinity House Lane and Postern Gate. In the 14th century a Carmelite Friary stood here. Trinity House took over the site in the 16th century. Starting as a guild to care for mariners and their families, Trinity House expanded to control the movement of shipping in the Humber.…
Czytaj więcej
The present façade dates from 1753, and of particular note is the decorated pediment on the east side incorporating a lion, unicorn, Britannia and Neptune.
-
Maritime Museum
Free entry. Formerly the Whaling Museum and housed in the original Dock Offices for the Prince's Dock and Queen's Dock (now Queen's Gardens). It is a huge, quaintly old-fashioned museum dedicated to Hull's glorious conquest of the High Seas and to the often tragic sacrifices made to it.…
Czytaj więcej
An elegant staircase rises from the entrance hall and there are displays to interest all ages from the skeleton of a whale to models of ships to explanations of fishing methods.
-
Hull Parks
Oficjalna stronaThree of the four main ones were laid out in the late 1800s as a response to Victorian altruism to provide the population with open green areas for recreation. There are four major parks but several smaller ones. Like many parks in the world, wandering in them at night may not be judicious.
-
The Deep
Oficjalna stronaA huge and spectacular aquarium looking out over the Humber estuary. Built as Hull's main millennium project, it has surpassed all expectations to become a massively successful tourist destination and second only in terms of visitor numbers to the Eden Project in Cornwall.
-
Holy Trinity Church
Oficjalna stronaIs officially the largest parish church in England, but as a piece of imposing medieval ecclesiastical architecture, it is to all intents and purposes more like a cathedral. The oldest parts date back to c. 1300 and the 150ft high tower contains a ring of 15 bells.
-
Wilberforce House
Birthplace and residence of William Wilberforce (1759-1833), MP for Hull and slavery abolitionist, whose anti-slavery bill was finally passed in 1807 after his tireless campaigning. The house has been a museum in his memory since 1903.
-
Streetlife Museum of Transport
Showcases 200 years of transportation history.
Fakty turystyczne
- Atrakcji łącznie
- 12
- Kingston upon Hull
- United Kingdom
Znajdź towarzyszy
Połącz się z samotnymi podróżnikami w Kingston upon Hull i odkrywajcie miasto razem.
Pobierz Nomax — BezpłatnieAtrakcje w innych miastach United Kingdom
Często zadawane pytania
Które atrakcje w Kingston upon Hull są obowiązkowe?
Kingston upon Hull has 12 documented sights including The Avenues, Hull Fair, The Garden Village. Use the list above to plan your itinerary.
How many days to see Kingston upon Hull?
Most travelers spend 3–5 days in Kingston upon Hull to cover the major sights. Download Nomax to connect with other travelers and plan a shared itinerary.
Is Kingston upon Hull good for solo travelers?
Yes. Kingston upon Hull is popular with solo travelers. Download Nomax to find sightseeing companions in Kingston upon Hull so you never have to explore alone.
Odkryj Kingston upon Hull z innymi podróżnikami
Pobierz Nomax, aby znaleźć towarzyszy podróży w Kingston upon Hull, dołączyć do aktywności turystycznych i uczynić swoją podróż niezapomnianą.
Pobierz Nomax — BezpłatnieiOS & Android. Free.
Wskazówki podróżnicze od współtwórców Wikivoyage (CC BY-SA 3.0) — Wikivoyage / CC BY-SA 3.0